Reflections of Memories

September 18, 2014 § 1 Comment

In a post entitled “Classics in a Classy House” that I wrote in June, 2012, I noted that both Susan and Frank Lloyd Wright followed the popular trend of their day by displaying replicas of classic statuary in their homes. These statues demonstrated that the home owner was cultured and appreciated fine art.  In Susan’s case, they undoubtedly were also an indication that she had seen the originals on her trips to Europe. 

I just returned from Europe and was fortunate enough to visit the Louvre in Paris for the first time. There I saw “Winged Victory” and “Venus de Milo.”  I was overwhelmed.  My first thought was that the statues in the Dana-Thomas House cannot begin to convey the scale, majesty, or beauty of either figure. Yet Susan tried to capture her memories and share them with her American friends through the replicas.

Then I did a very twenty-first century thing.  I had my friend take a picture of me with “Venus de Milo.” Now that I am home and looking at the photos from the trip, I realize that despite the technology of today, we still can’t convey through images the experience of seeing great masterpieces in person.  Nevertheless, like Susan, I am going to try to share my memories with you.  I hope that if you have not already done so, you too will get the opportunity to see these original magnificent masterpieces. Meanwhile, enjoy the reflections of the memories of Susan and me.

Winged Victory

Venus

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Reflections of Memories

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reflections of Memories at Susan and Me: Two Women in a Wright House.

meta

