More Moving Thoughts

April 6, 2014 § 4 Comments

It’s been a month since I wrote my last post (see “Moving On”) on this blog, and I’ve missed it.  I found that I cannot escape the call of history.  Many of you have encouraged me to continue writing, and Susan and her house keep popping up into my life.  I have decided that the story of Susan and her house and the current management of that house are two different issues.  I have no problems with the former, and I am in no position to change the latter.  Consequently, I plan to continue to share with you my discoveries and observations without the inspiration gleaned from leading tours through the house.

An article I read in the March 10, 2014, issue of The New Yorker magazine is an example of how Susan and the house keep intersecting my life.  In an earlier post I discussed how 1902 workers might have moved the cottage on Susan’s property across the railroad tracks to its current location (click here).  In the same post I wondered how movers were going to transport an entire Frank Lloyd Wright designed house 1,300 miles as reported in the New York Times.  I found the answer to that question in the New Yorker article.

Since 1988 Sharon and Lawrence Tarantino owned and restored the Wright designed Bachman Wilson home on the shores of the Millstone River in New Jersey.  When frequent flooding threatened the 1954 Usonian home, the couple sought a buyer who would move the house to a new site.  The Crystal Bridges Museum of America in Bentonville, Arkansas, agreed to purchase the house and to place it in the beautiful natural surroundings of the museum.  To move the house, Sharon, a designer, and her architect husband Lawrence first removed all the furniture, both free standing and built-in.  Then they created a dismantling plan.  They spent this past winter painstakingly numbering components of the structure.  This spring the house will be dismantled, and the components will be bundled, placed on three tractor trailers, and driven from New Jersey to Arkansas.  There the house will be reconstructed following the Tarantino’s plan.  To read the complete story, click here.

If I can draw one conclusion from all of this, it is that moving on, beyond, across the tracks, and across country are all extremely complicated.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to More Moving Thoughts

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More Moving Thoughts at Susan and Me: Two Women in a Wright House.

meta

