Moving On

March 9, 2014 § 11 Comments

In Chapter 18 of Susan Lawrence: The Enigma in the Wright House I quote an excerpt of a letter that Susan wrote to Frank Lloyd Wright and his wife Olgivanna in 1936:

My house here has been on the list of things I have not been able to look after and keep in constant repair.  I could not take the necessary steps to look after it.  I … have been in the small house on the other side of the railroad when I have been able to stay here.

According to Susan, she had lost most of her fortune because of high medical bills for her cousin Florence, the financial crash of 1929, and her inability to attract renters to her commercial properties in downtown Springfield.  The House needed major repairs and a new furnace.  Reluctantly Susan moved out of the Lawrence House.

Unfortunately, I am experiencing a crossroad similar to Susan’s.  Administrative decisions over the past year at the Dana-Thomas House have made my affiliation with the House intolerable.  Regretfully, I have chosen not to lead tours at the House for the foreseeable future.

Since most of my inspiration for this blog stems from my love for and experiences at the House, I will not be posting my thoughts as frequently as in the past.  Thanks to all of you who have loyally supported me and the House in this endeavor.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to Moving On

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Moving On at Susan and Me: Two Women in a Wright House.

meta

