I Digress to Frank Lloyd Wright

August 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

When I started to write Susan Lawrence: The Enigma in the Wright House, I made a conscious decision to maintain my focus on Susan and to only discuss Frank Lloyd Wright as he related to her and the house. I have tried to keep that focus while writing this blog. I believed that while no one had written a book about Susan, Frank Lloyd Wright and his life has been thoroughly revealed and dissected in multiple volumes.

It turns out that I was wrong. One very important influence on Frank Lloyd Wright’s work has been neglected—his father and music teacher,William Carey Wright. My image of the man has been that of a near-do-well itinerant preacher. Evidently William Carey Wright was also a lawyer, a country doctor, a musician, and a composer. He wrote and published many songs, piano pieces, and organ works.

Music historian David Patterson has been filling that gap through a project entitled, Frank Lloyd Wright’s Musical Origins: The Music of William Carey Wright.” He has been collecting the music composed by William Cary Wright and lecturing on his discoveries. Now Patterson has embarked on a new phase of the project. He hopes to produce a CD with professional musicians playing the works of the senior Wright and liner notes revealing the influence of the musician father on the work of his famous son.

As a former music teacher, I find this Wright connection intriguing. Patterson is seeking donations to complete his project, and I have pledged my support. If you would like to assist in building this new chapter in the Frank Lloyd Wright narrative, follow this link. I’ll return to Susan next week.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Digress to Frank Lloyd Wright at Susan and Me: Two Women in a Wright House.

meta

